Forum

Ladder Home Ladders Daily Scores Calculator My Flights Steward Logon Rules Forum Tools & Links

   
 
Guest

 

Subject Re: Abandoned followed by landout
Thread Number 3 of 3 in thread
Author Mick Boydon
Posted 10-Jul-17 10:08:00
  I suppose the question is Have I interpreted the rule correct. If you abandon TP1 (YOR) and land out at TP2 is the task scoreable as declared. Because I landed out our ladder steward considers the task invalid as a declared task because the rules state "There may be no more than one point of abandonment in a single task. " so he scored as undeclared to HAL - GA2 -BC3.

Thanks for your time, love the ladder, I check it every day.


## On 10-Jul-17 07:12:00 John Bridge wrote:

Hi Mick,

Not quite sure what your question is?

The shape factor is determined by the shape of the task - in your case 0.876. You declared the task so the declaration factor is 1.0. The result as you have posted it is correct, giving you 1489 points.

If you score the flight as an undeclared 2-leg goal flight, the declaration factor drops to 0.75 and the shape factor to 0.82. You are not permitted to use a point of abandonment for undeclared flights - but you could claim the nearest TP - say GA2 - to give you 1027 points.

Regards
John

## On 04-Jul-17 16:17:00 Mick Boydon wrote:

Last Sunday I declared HAL-YOR-BC3-LSW-HAL and abandoned the task just south of Scunthorpe due to slow progress and topcover. I then returned south to BC3 but chose to land there. I believe this is either "Landing Out" (BC3) or failing to reach a TP (LSW) having already used a point of abandonment (YOR)

My interpretation of this is that as I abandoned (YOR) and then terminated the flight by landout (BC3) that my scoring should be classed as a declared task abandoned and then terminated by landing out. So scored as DF = 1.00 for declared flights (fixed sectors).

At Halton have established our own club ladder pretty much aligned to your rules but there is currently some disagreement on the interpretation of abandonment, below is the answer from our local administrator.

"You can only abandon a task where you have only missed one TP out of however many were set.

That is why I have scored it as an undeclared o/r on the assumption that you had declared three tp's for a 750k task."

 

For more information regarding the BGA National Ladder please contact the National Ladder Steward